Cole and the Great Big Scary House

I’ve been wanting to write this for a while, just because it makes me laugh so much, and I hope that it will do the same for you.

A few weeks ago, my pregnant sister, her husband, their two little boys, my aunt, uncle, cousin, my husband and I went to a small amusement park for the afternoon. My oldest nephew (3) and I are pretty good buds, so we spent a lot of time walking around together and looking for rides to ride. He was holding my hand as we walked around the park, and as we approached one section of the park, he got super excited and told me, “There’s the scary house, Aunt Ky!” I couldn’t see it, so I asked him to show me where it was. “The scary house! I have to go on it, it’s really scary and it’s gonna make me cry!” I couldn’t figure out why he wanted to go in the scary house if it was going to make him cry, but he was determined. So my cousin (9), my nephew and I waited in line. There was a very informative sign in line saying “Parents, this ride might be scary. Prepare your children.”

I told Cole, “This ride might be scary,” to which he promptly replied, “It is!” Well, the three of us gave our tickets and climbed in the car. We weren’t on the ride for 30 seconds when Cole started screaming at the top of his lungs, crying, and saying “I WANT MY MOMMY!!” Okay, the house was legit creepy, but I think my cousin and I found it easier to not be scared when we were laughing at the absolute hilarity of Cole’s distress. I had my arm around the poor kid the entire way, and his mom and dad heard him crying before we ever even made it back outside.

It took a little while to calm him down afterwards, but before long he was back to normal, though resistant when anyone mentioned going back into the scary house.

I just can’t wait til next year when he grabs my hand again and says “Aunt Ky! The scary house! We have to go, it’ll make me cry!”

Leave a Reply

