Mud or Stars

So . . . a combination of thoughts are coming together here tonight. I am currently reading a really good book (well, 3 actually, but one that is contributing to this post.) about learning to be content. I’m not going to expound on the matter, because I’ve not yet learned it. But I am encouraged. I’m encouraged to know that the reason I can be content with what I have and where I am right now is because I have a God that is in control of my life, who has already counted out my portion and is making my way secure. I can be content with who I am, because I have a sovereign Creator who made me like this. There is no reason to be angry or cantankerous over the circumstances I find myself in, or the little imperfections I’m unhappy with – because who really is putting all of that on my shoulders to be responsible for? Rather, I am simply a reflection of a much bigger, better, awesomer God. Every thing that is imperfect in me, He loves me in spite of. Every difficult thing that I find myself facing, He knows a way to handle. It’s all about Him, and it’s not about me.

This quote was in the book I’m reading today:

Two women looked through prison bars,
One saw mud, the other saw stars.

And I came across this clip tonight while tumbling around on youtube and tumblr. This video is not going to share the ultimate source and meaning of joy as I believe it to be, but at the same time, you cannot watch it without being grateful for all that you do have, and realizing that there is so much more to life that the things you own and the way you look.

Leave a Reply

