My Week in Short Stories

Ahhhhhhhhhh . . . it is 6:40 on Sunday evening, and I feel the weekend is beginning. Just kidding . . . but I did just finish up my weekly coursework for my master’s class, so now I have a few hours for beating my husband at about 6 more games on the wii, making dinner, lesson planning, and a little bit of blogging. 🙂

Anyways, as you already know, I’ve been teaching this week – definitely a learning and growing experience. And I’ve also been learning this week. My master’s classes has some AWESOME topics and discussions, so it’s not that bad, as long as I can stay awake enough to understand what I am reading! So far we’ve been discussion things like culture, and how culture is taught in the classroom, and whether or not new inflectional affixes and function words can develop in a language. Fascinating, isn’t it?

Well, there are a few other things that have been going on this week . . . so I thought I’d update you.

The Poor Bird:

This is really a sad, but kind of chuckly story. The other night, Jeremy and I discovered a bird on our pump-fake balcony (that being when you have a rail and a door that opens that looks like it should be a balcony, but there is no actual balcony.) Well, we went and said hello to the little fellow and then went back to our activities. We had heard several interesting sounds during the night, and in the morning little fellow was still there. Turns out he was stuck because the pump-fake is too narrow for it to take off, and the railing kind of boxed him in. He had spent most of the time walking up and down asking the two other birds in the door and the balcony glass how to get out. We did finally rescue him with our swiffer in the morning. I think he has made a full recovery.

Date Night!

Date night this week was really great. We went to the mall and played arcade games, had a great dinner of iskender, shopped a little, then came home and watched a finale of the Amazing Race. I love my husband. This week was a great week of learning to listen and spend time with him. He is supportive and takes care of me, and I really respect him for that. Oh, and he got me this sweet shatter nail polish. I’ve been wanting to try some . . . isn’t it pretty cool?

DIY:

Someone recently requested more DIY posts. Well, most of my DIY projects are inspired by others, and I don’t have great pictures for this weeks DIYs, so here they are along with links. 🙂 I decided to see what all I could do with a cheap t-shirt. I picked up a t-shirt for about $3.50, and so far I have gotten these three projects out of it.

Here are the links where you can find these as well as my comments:

#1 Scarf/Necklace
So, I’m not totally thrilled with how this turned out for me. It certainly doesn’t look as nice as the one in the picture. But, I was making it up, because there is no tutorial! I just cut 6 about 1/2-1″ strips of t-shirt, glued them together at the end, then braided them for a few inches and then knotted it closed. It’s okay. I need to add a colored flower or some beads or something!

#2 T-Shirt Flower (my favorite!)
I really like this one! If you go to the site, you’ll see that the author used it on a t-shirt scarf (which I also want to make!) However, I put my flower on a little piece of cardboard, and then attached it to a bobby-pin. I’ve been wanting a flower for my hair, so now I have one! I really like it too. The author also uses a button for the center of the flower. Well, I couldn’t find a button, but I had a pearl that had fallen off of a ring recently . . . so, hey it works!

#3 Rosette
Okay, so I don’t like exactly how MINE turned out, but I do really like these! I don’t like mine mostly because the glue shows up too much. But, the tutorial is pretty easy to follow, so head on over and check them out!

What have you been up to this week?

6 thoughts on “My Week in Short Stories

  1. What have i been doing this week? making Bob-dolls! Discovered this great little pattern on the net that can be adapted to any style to suit it’s new owner. A friend of mine saw my 1st attempt (for India of course!) and so now I’m doing one with biker boots and a purple hoodie!! Next is a lovely one for Grace my friends mixed race 3 month old baby…trying to find the right colour brown for her skin…and next is one for Kittie May who’s a month older. Haven’t decided how to do that one yet, but it’s good fun and beats the boredom of long term illness. Tests show that I’m improving with every treatment, inshalla xxxx

  2. So, do YOU think function words can develop in a language? I read a book this summer – Endangered Minds, by Dr. Jane Healy – it was very scholarly with lots of studies and such sited, but it dealt with language and brain synapses and all kinds of interesting stuff like that…. So I am just wondering what your opinion is.

    Funny story about the book, the sub-title is “why children don’t think and what we can do about it.” Maria picked it up and asked her siblings,”Is it disturbing to any of you that our mom is reading this book?”

    1. Hahaha . . . that is funny! Well, my cursory opinion is that is pretty difficult for function words to develop in a language simply because they are kind of the backbone of the language, and therefore provide most of the needed structure. Something that is unnecessary is going to be a content word, and those are added frequently. However, I did come across an example of what I think is a new to modern English function word. I was reading a novel and the author used the word “sans” in a normal completely English sentence. I’d of course read “sans” before many times, but usually it was connected with a foreign phrase. I’d not really come across it as a complete replacement for “without.” But, I think that perhaps it is a developing function word in English as it is getting to the point where it can be used without communication being lost.

  3. My daughter Erin turned me on to your blog and I must say I am jealous. You do an awesome job. I am a novice at this so my blog is pretty weak in comparison, lol…but I wanted to share it with you anyway because you are a poet yourself and Erin thought you would appreciate it. I also did want you and Jeremy to know how proud I am of you and that I pray for you guys on a regular basis. God Bless and keep up the good work!

    1. Hey Mr. Parker!
      Thanks for the comment. 🙂 I couldn’t get to your blog for some reason. Can you send me the link again? Or maybe I’ll try again tomorrow afternoon. I hope that it’s encouraging for you to visit my blog, and don’t worry, figuring everything out will come with time. I started in January on another blog, so have been working and tweaking for a while. I find it extremely enjoyable to spend time blogging, and wish I could do more. I’m excited to visit yours! Hopefully the link will work later on.

Leave a Reply

