Keeping it Fun

So, I have been married to the most amazing man for 2 years, 3 months, and 13 days. That’s pretty cool. The last two years, both Jeremy and I have worked or attended the same University. This year is the first school year of our marriage where we have obligations that keep us in different places. As ironic as it sounds, I’m loving it. I love coming home and having different stories to share. I love coming home to a big hug. I love remembering why I married this man, and just sitting and having conversations about things we’re learning or did during the day.

Something that’s been on my mind recently is the importance of making him important. I know that should sound really obvious, but when we are living together, sometimes it is easy to take the other for granted. I don’t ever want to do that. And sometimes, I really fail. But, it is my goal to make him feel like he means the world to me, because he does. Sometimes, I’m not very good at stopping and listening, but it is worth it! The joy of our relationship is so much more evident when we take the time to know each other.

Anyway . . . that’s not what this whole post is about. I just thought I’d share an idea with you that we just did. I really had fun, though I will admit, I might have pouted and ranted just a little (that’s one thing he likes about me, right?) Anyways, this weekend I had a meeting on Saturday for about 4 hours at my school, and then a ton of schoolwork to do for my class. So . . . I wanted to make sure that we spent some time together doing something fun. So, this is what we did:

I chose several different wii games that we have, and assigned them point values. I put lines for the winner under each competition. Next, I had Jeremy choose the stakes. We ended up with CSI: NY, Coke, and Chocolate Chip Cookies if he won, and Gilmore Girls, a massage, and ice cream if I won. Let’s just say I just took the last of the cookies out of the oven.

So, throughout the day I would spend time working on my class, then we’d set a time and play for a while. Jeremy had a meeting this afternoon, so I was able to work some more, and then after he came back, we played some more. It did take us several hours, but we split up the work and the play, and it was really fun. I think we might be doing it again sometime, but I just might have to adjust which games we play. 🙂

Well, I hope that this might possibly encourage you to appreciate the person (or people) you share your home with. What a blessing and gift that we don’t have to live life as lonely people! Enjoy your week! Make the most of the time you have with those you love!
Leave a Reply

