CC19: Christmas treats & Giveaway

So, I am sitting here tonight, drinking a cup of sahlep. What is sahlep? Hmmmm . . . a cup of delicious warmth. 🙂 It’s a Turkish thing. I think if you look it up you’ll find something about orchids – but it is a hot, sweet milk drink. Like, the companion to hot chocolate, but not chocolatey. And not egg-noggy, either. I don’t really know how to describe it. But, if you stay tuned, you might be able to win some . . . an instant package that is.

So, it got me started thinking about Christmas treats. I miss monkey bread!! But, I started thinking about caramel macchiatos, hot chocolate, coffeecoffeecoffee, candy canes, too many cookies, my mom’s great mocha punch, mmmmmm. I love Christmas! So, today’s post is short, but sweet. I’m going to be offering to send an instant packet of sahlep (just heat up milk on the stove and stir it in!) to three lucky winners. All you have to do is leave a comment on here telling me your favorite:

1. Christmas drink
2. Christmas cookie
3. Christmas meal

And please be prepared to send recipes should I request them! Also leave your email address so that I can contact you if you are one of the lucky winners! This contest will be open until next Tuesday – so you have one week to leave a comment and then share with your friends. I will be awarding extra entries for any of you who share on twitter (+1), facebook (+1), or your own blog (+1). Leave an additional comment below letting me know which of the above you did and I will factor them in!

This giveaway is open internationally.

While you’re thinking of your favorites, please, enjoy some Bing Crosby on me . . . well, technically on youtube.

2 thoughts on “CC19: Christmas treats & Giveaway

  1. Oh, food! That is easy! I love hot, spiced cider to drink with Russian Teacakes for a treat. Favorite Christmas Meal…. Prime rib roast of beef, with twice baked potatoes and glazed carrots. Mmmmmmm

  2. We’re English and vegetarian so our favourite Christmas dinner consists of;
    Quorn roast…this is a meat alternative which I don’t think you have in the States and they definitely don’t sell it in Turkey!
    Potato and sweet potato mash with butter
    Roast garlic and parsley potatoes
    Glazed sprouts with chestnuts
    Carrots and broccoli
    Homemade vegetarian gravy
    Cranberry sauce

    …..and if there’s any room left after that it’s Christmas pudding with brandy sauce followed by gouching in front of the TV with a good film xxxx

Leave a Reply

