CC18: Wednesday

I often find that Wednesdays are rather stressful days in my week. It’s about the time when the weekend is approaching and I’ve never finished as much work as I’ve wanted to. And this week it is on the brink of deadline time.

I’m sure that I’m not the only person who experiences some stress around the holidays, right? With guests and parties and lots to do and school finishing and trying to get all of those year-end projects done . . . I mean, at least someone else out there gets at least a little stressed, don’t you?

So, I wanted to ask you all . . . what do you do to de-stress? What is your go to when you get overwhelmed?

I wish that I could say that my go-to was to spend time in prayer and reading the Word. But, that would be a lie. Because, if I am completely honest with you, I go to media, videos, TV, or just ranting to my husband about all that I have to get done.

This whole issue reminds me of a challenge I heard from one of my favorite professors in University. He took us to Matthew 11: and read these verses:

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

I love this picture of Christ. His arms opened up asking me to come and tell him all of the things that I am struggling with, and letting him take them from me and help me through them. I serve a God who understands my need for rest, and he wants to give that to me.

My professor also directed me to this sermon by Jim Berg. I have listened to this one a couple of times and it is always a good reminder to slow down and remember what is important.

I just wanted to share this with you in hopes that it will be an encouragement for you as you go through the busy time of the holiday season. Don’t let stress get to you. Remember that God is a God of rest and he is waiting for you to rely on him to give you the rest that you need.

(And don’t forget to enter my giveaway from yesterday!!)

Leave a Reply

