CC1: Merry Christmas Eve!

Last night we attended a Christmas Carols and Lessons Service at Westminster Abbey. Pretty impressive! It was a really neat experience. We sang some familiar Christmas carols, but we were able to listen to some that I had never heard before. I wanted to share one with you that I really enjoyed. I like the perspective in this song and how it is different from a lot of the other carols.

Tomorrow shall be my dancing day:
I would my true love did so chance
to see the legend of my play,
to call my true love to my dance

Sing O my love, O my love, my love, my love;
this have I done for my true love. 

 Then was I born of a virgin pure,
of her I took fleshly substance;
thus was I knit to man’s nature,
to call my true love to my dance.

In a manger laid and wrapped I was,
so very poor, this was my chance,
betwixt an ox and a silly poor ass,
to call my true love to my dance.

traditional
arranged by James O’Donnell

On this Christmas Eve, I am thankful that Jesus came willing to love me and pursue me as a lover pursuing a bride he desires. How grateful I am to be a part of this grand story!!

Leave a Reply

