Dead?

Dead, they said,
with mocking scorn
as they looked upon his body torn.
They laughed relief,
and unbelief,
they took him down.

Dead? they said,
of course not dead!
Have you forgotten what he said?
Death cannot hold him,
can’t control,
he is not in this earthly hole.

Dead? you say,
It cannot be,
my Jesus lives and pleads for me.
he conquered death,
my sin atoned
he sits today on heaven’s throne.

Death, you ask –
I have no fear.
Death has got no power here,
for I am his,
he’s paid for me,
death is only the path to eternity.

One thought on “Dead?

Leave a Reply

