It’s a Party!!

Okay . . . so I would like to start off by wishing a HUGE HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my amazing husband. If you want to wish it yourself, you can visit him at his photo blog his intellectual blog or twitter. I have to say that I am so blessed to be married to such an amazing man!!

So, for Jeremy’s birthday, we went to see the Avengers on Saturday night in Xpand 3D (I don’t really know what that means, but I think it was special! I do know that if you put your finger over the little triangle at the front of the glasses, everything goes un-3D.) It made me start thinking that perhaps I’ll start including reviews of movies and TV shows on this blog as well. Leave me a comment letting me know what you think below.

Anyways, I LOVED this movie. It was one of those movies that I would easily go and watch again, and I was laughing the whole taxi ride home, and long after we had gotten home too. I thought this movie was really well done. I am admittedly NOT a sci-fi fan. I don’t appreciate weird creatures doing weird things. But, I thought this movie was brilliant. It is connected to earth enough that I was completely involved. The basic premise is that there is an outer-space force trying to attack the world, and so Nick Fury gathers together the comic book heros that have been scattered around the earth to help protect it. He calls in the Hulk – of whom my only memories are hiding behind the couch and covering my eyes and ears while my dad and brothers watched the show – IronMan – who just may be my favorite, since watching his two movies last year – and Captain America – I liked the first half hour or so of his movie, but . . . I slept through the rest.

The combination of the three together is great. It was a hilarious movie, and perhaps it is me in my other cultural state, but I fully appreciated the American accents and references. Along with the whole cultural aspect, watching it with a theater full of Turks is always funny, because they don’t always laugh at the really hilarious parts, since the concept or the words don’t translate well. But, there were a few moments when the entire room was laughing out loud. It was just super fun.

As far as recommending this movie, I really would. As a whole, it was clean with the exception of a few swearwords (according to IMDB it might be around 10). It is rated PG-13 for a mild drug reference (that I didn’t even notice) and sci-fi violence. There is a lot of fighting against aliens at the end of the movie, and I was still tempted to hide during the Hulk scenes (or at least find somewhere safe to set my Coke!), but it is never gory or bloody (do aliens even have blood?) So, on that note, I would be cautious with children . . . I can see this movie invoking nightmares, but other than that, I thought it was pretty well done and fairly clean.

Anyways, that was one really enjoyable part of our weekend. A couple of other highlights from the week:

1. Our fellowship just acquired a piano, so being able to play again has been a great joy to me!

2. I finished my master’s semester yesterday!! Aha. That felt very good.

3. Jeremy is handing in his Thesis tomorrow . . . that will also feel good!

4. We’re just trying to enjoy life!! And make summer plans, and figure out what on earth God’s doing with us . . . but it’s an adventure that we’re thrilled to be a part of.

from Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl
Leave a Reply

