So You’re Religious?

I was asked this last night, and after thinking back, I wish that I would have answered better. I hope that it is no surprise to you that I am a Christian. I have not tried to hide that. I have personally chosen for myself certain choices like: I don’t drink, I didn’t have sex before marriage, I don’t swear . . . and sometimes, that leads people to the conclusion:

“Oh, so your rather religious.”

No, actually, I have a relationship with Jesus Christ. He died for me, to buy back my soul after I had betrayed Him by being born as a sinner. He has a master plan for this world, and that includes me knowing about Him, and believing in Him. I truly do believe in Him, and if I believe that God humanized Himself so that He could die to pay a price that I was incapable of paying, raised from the dead, because it is impossible for a real God to stay dead, and in doing so has created a hope that I could live with Him eternally, I don’t really see how I can have another response than to live in a relationship with Him.

You don’t often let someone sacrifice something great for you and then ignore them for the rest of your life. I’m not religious. I am not working to attain something better after I die. I have been given something better that is being reserved for me for after I die, and I live in a relationship with God here, realizing that all of what this world has to offer is but a shadow of the better things that He has in store. I set standards for my life because I don’t want to be so caught up in the here and now that I miss out on a relationship with Jesus. As Christian, I have taken on His name, and I represent Him now. If He was willing to die to start a relationship with me, then I am willing to give up some things here to keep a relationship with Him.

I’m not religious, I’m friends with Jesus.

And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

2 thoughts on “So You’re Religious?

  1. Hey there! Amen to that! I enjoyed your post. Christianity at the core is relational, people will learn more from your actual walk with God and make their own conclusions from your faith in action (even if action means sitting still with the Lord :)) whether they conclude that you are religious, spiritual, etc, the fact that you take joy, celebration, gratitude, and appreciation in your relationship with God is the perfect answer. 🙂 Sounds like you answered just right!

Leave a Reply

