Home . . . Summer Lessons

Ah. Home. There is a thunderstorm outside, we just stocked the cupboards with groceries, the internet is up. It feels like home!

I realize that I have not been keeping up with my posting schedule recently. I’m sorry. Kind of. I’m not going to promise that I will be completely back to my schedule yet, but I will start posting more regularly now that I am starting to get back into a routine. But for today, I just want to share a few lessons I learned this summer. These aren’t long and drawn out, just some simple ideas that I hope will be an encouragement to you!

1. People take Priority: I’m putting this first because really, this is why I haven’t been blogging. This summer was a lot about spending time with family and friends, and I realized again how blessed I am with the people in my life. Don’t fall into the trap of letting the internet or other hobbies and interests take precedent over the people in your life, because they aren’t always going to just be right there . . . and generally, all of the other things that you want to fill your time with will be there when you find yourself alone.

2. Comparison Kills Joy: I’ve known this for a long time. Really, I have. But knowing something doesn’t always mean that I act like I know it. I had a couple of conversations over this summer about how easy it is to become discontent when you start measuring your life up to someone else’s. I’ll try to avoid getting long about it, but even things such as facebook require extreme caution for anyone who is trying to live a joy-filled and content life. I’ve thought about this many times, but facebook has taken people we know and are friends with and has “celebratized” them. It used to be okay when we saw Hollywood stars going on adventures or spending exorbitant amounts of money, or having something seemingly really awesome happen in their lives. They were Hollywood stars, not normal people. But now we are constantly seeing all of the amazing things that people we know and equate ourselves with. Guess what, everyone, myself included likes to share the good things about life on the internet. It’s this safe haven where we can build ourselves up and we can show other people the exciting things about our lives, but those people are not present for the intense trials, temptations, and daily mood swings that we experience. I’m not saying that we need to share every difficult part of our lives on the internet, but we do need to be wary that we are not only using our social platforms as an opportunity to brag or show off without reason. Also, and especially we women, need to be careful not to let facebook statuses and pictures and other conversations (and not just facebook, but any social media) destroy our contentment in the adventure that God has chosen for us. Okay, I’ll stop for now.

3. He cares about the little things: If I can say that I have learned anything this last week, it is that God cares about the little details of my life. I won’t bore you with details, but that has just been evident to me this week.

4. Dreams can come true with hope, prayer, and work.

5. I married an amazing man.

So, that’s a shortlist of things that I have been learning this summer. There’s a lot more, and maybe some of it will find it’s way on here throughout the year, but for now I will leave you with these thoughts. What has your summer taught you?

Leave a Reply

