8 Books for the Christmas Break

So, I officially finished all work for my master’s classes last night. That means – time to read for fun!! So, I thought I’d share my top 8 books for the Holiday Season. Let me know your picks in the comments!!

8. To Be Perfectly Honest: This is a good, beginning a new year, fun, light, but thought-provoking read.

7. The Chronicles of Narnia: You know I love these. Especially The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is perfect for this time of year.

She made it always winter but never Christmas.

6. The Hunger Games: If you’ve been reading this blog for any time, you’ll know that I flew through these and absolutely enjoyed the ride. You won’t even need the whole break to get through all three (and you MUST read all three!!)

5. The Patrick Bowers Files: You will also have noticed that I have been a big fan of these books for the last 2 years or so. These are great thriller novels that go really fast and are great for a snowy afternoon with a cup of coffee.

4. Story: Recapture the Mystery: This is another Steven James book, but it is more of a Biblical Theology that walks through the story of the Bible. I read it around Easter time two years ago, and it was really great. It is a great reminder of what we believe and why it matters.

3. The Judge Who Stole Christmas: This is a good Christmas story revolving around conflict over a living nativity in a small town. The questions the book raises are really interesting regarding faith, religion, and politics, but at the same time it is a good Christmas story. I have posted reviews on books by Randy Singer before, and have really enjoyed the legal perspective that he incorporates into his books.

2. Classics: If you’re looking to read up on some classics over the Christmas Holidays, let me suggest my few favorites. Dracula, The Scarlet Letter, The Phantom of the Opera.

1. Island of the World: if you are looking for something a bit heavy and substantial, then this is the book. This is an excellent description of recent history, an deeply moving book, and just a beautiful, if heartbreaking story told by a masterful storyteller.

Right now, I personally am reading Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres and The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, and Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak is the next one on my list. How about you? What are you reading right now?

(You can find review of most of the books listed in this post by searching in the search bar on my blog.)

Leave a Reply

