New Beginnings: Cleaning!!

71624_103231003077722_3910936_nMaybe your house is already perfect, but mine is far from it. So, as New Year’s rolled around, one of my resolutions was to get a little more organized in the cleaning department. I had an inkling that I might not be the only one out there who could improve on my cleaning skills, so I decided to ask someone who I really respect in regards to keeping a clean house. Meet my mom!! There have been times in our family where we might possibly have made fun of my mom for cleaning all the time, but when it comes down to it, she is really a great example of keeping a clean home and why it is important. I asked my mom if she would be willing to answer some questions on here, and she agreed! So, today, I get to share with you her ideas about cleaning!! Enjoy!

1. Why do you think it is important to keep a clean home? 

I think that my husband deserves to come home to an orderly and clean home after a hard day at work. I believe that it sets an example for my children and I believe that I should always be ready in case someone should stop over or someone would need a place to stay.  Don’t be afraid to include children in the cleaning.  You can make cleaning fun.

2. Do you follow a schedule in your cleaning?

No, I just try to do a little each day so that you aren’t overwhelmed on cleaning day or when you have to get ready for guests. 

3. What is your best advice for keeping a clean home? 

To clean up as you go.  It only takes a few minutes to put something away when you are through with it.  Do things that make your home look tidy like making your bed as soon as you get up.  A bedroom looks much neater if the bed is made.  Hang your clothes up or put them in the hamper as soon as you take them off and teach your children to do the same thing.  If you are baking, put things away and dirty dishes in the sink as you go along. 

4. How do you manage your time with full-time work, cooking, and keeping the home? 

I try to take a couple of minutes before I leave for work to make sure everything is put away off the kitchen counters like dishes that I left to dry the evening before.  My bed is always made when I leave for work.  That means I don’t feel overwhelmed as soon as I get home.  I make dinner and clean up all that I can before we eat.  If I have pans, knives, cutting board, etc., I wash all that while dinner is cooking/baking.  I clean up right away after dinner.  I try to keep the laundry caught up so it doesn’t become a daunting task.  I try to complete some cleaning each day. 

5. What is the biggest challenge for you with house-keeping (either cooking and/or cleaning)?

My biggest challenge is getting ready for company and still allowing my family to live their lives in the house.

6. What are your favorite products or resources for keeping a clean home? 

A good vaccuum cleaner with attachments.
A duster/webber with a long handle.
A good stringy mop and large bucket.
Pine Sol – it makes the house smell clean.
Murphy’s dusting spray.
Soft Scrub.
Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.  (these are wonderful!)

7. For people who are hoping to improve their cleaning habits this year, what are three small steps that you would suggest that they take? 

  1. Take the extra minute to do the small tasks that make your house look neater. 
  2. Make a list of all the cleaning that you need to do in a week and make sure you check something off each day.
  3. If you are a TV watcher, use the commercials to get some small cleaning task done.

What is your best tip for New Year’s cleaning? Leave it in the comments below!!

Leave a Reply

