28 Days of LOVEliness: Gift Guide – Kids

I know that not everyone gives gifts for Valentine’s Day. But, I do hope that whether you do or not, you take the opportunity to show the people you care about how much you love them. Love doesn’t always have to have a price tag and bows, but love should at times involve some form of sacrifice and giving. Today and the next couple of days, I want to share a few gift ideas for the people in your life. Now, I don’t have kids, but today I’m going to share a few ideas of gifts you can give to your kids to show your love on Valentine’s Day. Let me know your own ideas in the comments below!!

you can print these for free from sugarforthebrain.com

Free:

1. Coupon book: How many times have your kids been sent home with a coupon book for you from school or church? Well, why not use the same idea with them? I think some kids would be thrilled to know that you would give up half an hour to play with them, or help them clean their room. Here’s a few ideas of coupons to include for your kids:

  • one chore-free night
  • a movie night (kid’s choice!)
  • one free afternoon __________ (crafting, exercising, playing basketball, shopping, etc.) with Mom/Dad
  • kid gets to pick what to listen to in the car
  • kid gets to pick Sunday restaurant

2. Card/letter: My parents used to give me a Valentine with a note telling me what they loved about me, what things they appreciated, or ways they saw me growing. Those things always made me feel super special, and I cherished the letters for a very long time.

Less than $10:

3. For girls – Flowers: Dads, bringing your daughter a rose, or a small bouquet of flowers means way more than you know! I remember when my Dad brought me flowers, it made me feel so special. That was usually reserved for Mom, and it was special for her even, so when my dad brought flowers home for me, it made me feel so grown up, loved, and special. Especially once your little girl is reaching pre-teen stage, something as little as flowers can make her feel like a princess.

4. Book: Books are magical. I hope that you can find a way to communicate that to your kids! Pick out a favorite of yours, or a brand new one to read together, or take them to the bookstore and let them pick one for Valentine’s Day. Make the day as much about spending time together as possible; let them know you love being with them.

More than $10:

5. Klutz books: When I was a kid, these were the coolest things. The Paper Flying Dragons (Klutz) one looks like it would be pretty awesome for boys, and I think that the Twirled Paper: Make Almost Anything With Simple Paper Strips (Klutz S.)
one is a great gift for girls!

6. Radio Theater: Here’s another great gift that my parents used to give to me. I was actually just thinking about it as I listened to several stories while grading end of semester exams! I love stories, and I love listening to them. Focus on the Family Radio Theater produces the best radio drama I have ever heard. There is a large selection of stories, including many classics like Les Miserables, Anne of Green Gables, Silas Marner, and others. My parents started giving these to me when I was around 12 or 13, and I still listen to them today.

7. An Event: This is yet another thing that my parents did with my sister and I, generally around report card time. They often took us to see a local play in a theater house. Other ideas could be to see a concert or sporting event, especially if those are things that interest your child. Harlem Globetrotters are always a good choice!!

Do you give gifts for Valentines? What other ways do you show your love to your kids? I’d love to hear your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

