Who Do You Think You Are: Review

My generation doesn’t know who they are. We are constantly trying to define ourselves by which start-up, which brand, which branch, which group, which career, which university, which personality . . . get it? We want so badly to be someone, but at the same time, we don’t want to be like everyone. It is a dilemma to be sure, and many of us are approaching adulthood and struggling through identity crises. But there’s good news. However, for Christians, our identity has been defined, and who we are has been cleared. We are in Christ.

This was a very timely read for me. I feel like I could read it again already, although I have just finished it about two weeks ago. Mark Driscoll, pastor of Mars Hill Church in Washington State, presents a very easy, clear, and challenging look at our identity as found in Ephesians in his book Who Do You Think You Are? I thoroughly enjoyed this journey through Ephesians because it challenged my ideas of identity and finding my identity in what I did or who valued me. Rather, as Driscoll points out, our identity is bound up in Christ and His finished work on the cross.

Driscoll walks through each section of Ephesians and shows us what our new identity in Christ looks like. What does it mean to be redeemed? How does my interaction with others change? How do I act if I really believe I am forgiven? This book was really helpful for me to hold up a model for what my life ought to look like since I have been bought with a price, and since my identity has been changed. It was an encouragement to see how I could let go of the things that were holding me back, and at the same time it was a challenge to actually let go of those things that are holding me back. I am now a child of God. What happened in my past cannot weaken His power or grace. I cannot grovel in my past failures, or boast in my successes, because all of it has been stripped away, and I have been given a new persona. I am Christ’s image-bearer here, in this world, for this time.

Driscoll has also been preaching the same series at his church in Washington, so I have been listening along online. It has been great for me to really revel in the Gospel and in the finished work of Christ and what that really means for my life. Listening and reading to the same message has challenged me to seriously think through how I am living and who I view myself as. Because that view really does invade and influence the rest of my life and interactions.

I would highly recommend this book for any Christian who has ever struggled with their identity in Christ and what that practically looks like. If you have ever wallowed in guilt and wondered how to rise up from it? If you have found yourself struggling with pride and wanted freedom to truly serve Christ, then this book will help you to explore who you now are and what the new you should do and look like.

One thought on “Who Do You Think You Are: Review

Leave a Reply

